The Genio Trust was established in 2010 to receive and disburse innovation funds to support the reform of services in a personalised, cost-effective direction. The Trustees of the Genio Trust are appointed by the Board of Directors of Genio Ltd. Their role is to make final decisions regarding receiving and disbursing funds through the Trust against criteria agreed with our partners, ensuring these decisions are in line with the overall mission of Genio.

Board of Trustees

Professor Brian MacCraith
Chairperson of the Genio Trust; President of Dublin City University

Brian MacCraith received his B.Sc and PhD in physics (Optical Spectroscopy of chromium-doped crystals) at NUI, Galway. Prof MacCraith is renowned internationally for his research on optical chemical sensors and biosensors; he has a substantial track record of publications and intellectual property in this area. In October 1999, he became founding Director of the National Centre for Sensor Research (NCSR; at DCU. The NCSR has now grown to a scale of 240 researchers. In August 2001, Prof. MacCraith was elected to Fellowship of the Institute of Physics. Four years later, a spin-off company (Gas Sensor Solutions) based on technology developed by Prof. MacCraith won the Liavan Mallin Invent Award for innovation. In October 2005, he was appointed Director of the Biomedical Diagnostics Institute (BDI; with funding of €22.5m. Currently, he is a member of the Forfas Advisory Council on Science, Technology & Innovation and the Government-appointed High-Level Steering Group on Research Prioritisation. In July 2010, he was inaugurated as President of Dublin City University, a position that he will hold for 10 years.

Geraldine Ruane
Chief Operating Officer, Trinity College Dublin

Geraldine Ruane was formerly Chief Executive Officer of Ordnance Survey Ireland and is now Chief Operating Officer of Trinity College, Dublin. Her consultative management style has been backed up by her lifelong learning on leadership, coaching and mentoring from Harvard University, International Institute for Management Development (IMD), Institute of Directors in Ireland (IOD), Irish Management Institute (IMI) and University College Dublin Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School. With a strong commercial and finance background and 25 years as a Senior Executive, Geraldine Ruane has led and developed strategic vision, implemented growth strategies and efficiencies within the pharma, ICT, manufacturing and public sectors.

Barney Whelan
Former Director of Communications and Corporate Affairs, An Post

Barney Whelan retired from An Post as Director of Communications and Corporate Affairs in 2016. He is currently working on a number of exciting projects. Having spent many years in the aquaculture industry, he was responsible for public relations and brand communications at the ESB from 1992 to 2002. He subsequently held the position of Director, Sales and Marketing at safefood, The Food Safety Promotion Board. He is currently a Governor of the National Gallery and also sits on the Foundation Board of the National College of Ireland and the Board of Drinkaware. He has chaired a number of non-profit organisations over the years.

Bairbre Nic Aongusa
Head of Community Development Division at Department of Rural and Community Development

Bairbre is Assistant Secretary at the Department of Rural and Community Development and Head of the Community Development Division. She is a highly skilled and experienced public servant with a strong track record of achievement, including six years at senior management level in three Government Departments. Particular strengths in strategic policy formulation, negotiation and stakeholder engagement and in leading transitions from policy formulation to active delivery of change in dynamic and complex public service environments.

Specialists in transforming social services

We work with Government and Philanthropy
to support people in leading self-determined lives

Find out more about us

Stay up to date

Keep in touch with the latest news and events from
Genio by joining our mailing list

Sign up

19-21 Westland Square
Pearse St., Dublin 2, D02 YH27, Ireland
Phone +353 1 707 1700
Email [email protected]